Internship Weekly Blog: Week 13

Throughout these series of blogs, I have talked about what I liked about my internship. Overall, I have enjoyed the experience and felt it will go a long way to helping me find a job in the future. However, this week, I will go over what I didn’t like about this internship since it is almost over.

The biggest thing I didn’t like about this internship was that the tasks I had to do, while very important to the station, are tedious and can be viewed by many people as boring or unexciting. The main things that I do on a daily basis are working at a computer looking at logs, spreadsheets, or working in Adobe Audition. Those are not the most exciting things in the world. I find it amazing that Helen has been working on these assignments almost every day for over 11 years with the company.

Now, I’m not saying that what they are doing is stupid. Like I said, the operations and production part of the station is arguably the most important one because they make sure everything sounds right and also helps to make sure all of the advertisements are put in place, which provide the funding. I just think that I wouldn’t be able to that type of job every day. I think that it could get old very quickly. I would rather be working out in the field covering a story or writing an editorial piece. Even Bob said to me when I was working one day, “Are you having fun with the wonders of Marketron?”

That being said, like I mentioned before, am I glad I experienced and got practice in this field because it was a good learning opportunity and can help me in the future.

The other major thing about the internship I didn’t like was that there were times where I would have to wait a while to do another task because Helen and Bob didn’t have anything for me. This didn’t happen a lot but happened enough for me to notice it. I didn’t wait too long, a max of 10-15 minutes, but it showed that the tasks I had to do at times were a little limited.

Overall, while the tasks were a little drawl at times, I still liked the internship. The people were nice to me and treated me well and I got a whole new perspective on another side of journalism and radio/TV stations.

Leave a comment