Internship Weekly Blog: Week 12

Throughout these series of blogs, I have talked about what I liked about the internship itself, what I like about journalism and why I wanted to become one, and what I liked about Point Park. This week, I will again be positive but be a little more broad. I will go into detail about what I like about Pittsburgh, as it is where both my school and internship is located, and where I would like to work once I graduate.

First and foremost, I always loved coming to Pittsburgh because of its sights, sounds, and culture. The Pittsburgh skyline, particularly at night, is truly a beautiful sight to behold. There are also many different parts to the city, each feeling unique to the other. Downtown does not feel the same to the South Side, which doesn’t feel the same to North Shore, and Homewood, and so on.

I also like that even though it is technically the second-biggest city in the state, it is still small enough to me that I don’t feel claustrophobic . Pittsburgh is small enough where if you had too, you can easily walk to wear you need to go, given you have the time.

Finally, as a very personal bias, I love all of the sports teams that are in Pittsburgh, which include the Steelers, Pirates, Penguins, and Panthers.

Pittsburgh was, as I mentioned before, a major factor in my decision to come to Point Park. It was relatively close to my hometown of New Castle and I felt it would have a lot of opportunities for me with my career.

Well, as it turns out, yes, there is. Going into school, I knew of the four big TV stations, (KDKA, WTAE, WPXI, WQED), and the two big newspapers (Post-Gazette and Tribune Review). However, as it turns out, this city has a lot more to offer than it appears for journalism. This city has ten TV stations, over 40 radio stations, and over a dozen smaller papers/magazines. That is a big commodity of places that I could hired to, no matter what career path in journalism I decide to follow.

Even working and having experience in WESA, Pittsburgh’s NPR news station will be beneficial because it shows that I have had work in a top-20 market city like Pittsburgh.

Overall, when I graduate, I would love to start my career in Pittsburgh, or the greater Pittsburgh area because I love the city, it’s still close to my family and friends, and I believe  the city will be give me plenty of opportunities to succeed moving forward.

Leave a comment