Internship Weekly Blog: Week 11

It’s hard to imagine this, but it has already been three months since I started my internship. I now only have one month left until I leave and return back to school for my final semester. They say that life goes by faster than you can imagine. Well, that is an understatement for me in general.

I still remember the first week that I started the internship. I was very nervous because I wanted to make a good first impression and prove to everyone there that I am a hard worker willing to do whatever it takes. However, as the weeks went by and I got more comfortable with the different responsibilities that I have to do, the less nervous that I got.

In fact, I have practiced and done those different activities so many times by now that not only do they feel second nature to me, but I know exactly when in the day I have to do each activity/job.

The same philosophy applied to me for college as well. When I first started college in 2013, I was a shy, socially-awkward 18-year-old who cried his eyes out when my parents drooped me off, even though they were only an hour away. I was scared, nervous for my future, and thought I would hardly have any fun or friends during my time here.

Low and behold, all of that was proven false. Sure, I can still can a little nervous talking to people and I am still concerned for the future as far as job placement goes, but that is perfectly normal. However, I am more confident in myself, am not afraid of being away from my family and have had great moments and friends here at Point Park that will last a lifetime for me.

In fact, it will be heart-breaking for me and will make me cry even harder when I leave in December and have to say goodbye to my friends and professors here. I will also miss working at my internship too, as everyone is nice and helpful to me and too each other and I hope that I get to work in a friendly environment like that in the future.

Leave a comment