Internship Weekly Blog: Week 8

This is technically week 9, however, for me, this is week 8 because I was on vacation the week before. So, for the rest of the summer, I will be one week behind everyone else. It’s not as bad as last summer where I was two months behind everyone.

Anyway, with this week being over, I am now over halfway done with not only the internship, but also the summer as well. I can’t believe how fast it is going. It feels like I just started not too long ago. However, that is why they say that life goes by quickly and that you have to take advantage of every opportunity that is presented to you.

That is why I decided to mainly take the internship. Yes, the internship is giving me three credits for school, but that is not the main reason why I took this internship. I may have mentioned this before, but it was an opportunity that I could not have afforded to miss. In the job market, especially my field of journalism, it is a highly competitive field with hardly any openings at all.

In order to stand out by employers for a job, you not only need to have the skills and a kind personality, but you also need to have experience. Now, for most people, that is hard because it difficult to get experience when they are so young. However, that is one reason why I love Point Park, because they offer you real-world experiences and can help you with your career choice.

For me, all of my journalism professors have had experience in the field so when they teach me and look over my work, I know that it’s based on what they’ve seen in the real world. I have also been fortunate that the university has had so many different programs/organizations that gives me experience as well. I have had experience with a newspaper, a TV station, and a radio station thanks to The Globe, U-View, and WPPJ respectively. Plus, the two internships that I had taken will all hopefully help me to stand out and get a good job whenever I graduate.

So, I am thankful for this internship and the university that I attend. Plus, it’s two blocks away from Market Square. You can’t beat that.

Leave a comment