Internship Weekly Blog: Week 9

Another week is in the books. I have been writing the last few weeks about the ins and outs of the radio station that I am working for. However, for this week, I want to do something a little different. While I won’t go to complex, I will go over why I wanted to become a journalist and why I chose to go to Point Park, as well as what my dream job is.

As far as when I wanted to become a journalist, it was my senior year in high school. Previously, I wanted to be a creative writer because I loved to either write or think about stories for many years. I still do that in my spare time when I relax. The previous summer, I went to a writing camp at WQED to learn the ins and outs of being a creative writer. However, that experience ironically made me realize that was something that I didn’t want to do.

The people in charge said that I had good potential as a writer but warned that it was very difficult to say the least to make it as a writer. You hardly make any money to start out with and aren’t even guaranteed to make it big. That scared me and mad me realize that being a creative writer wouldn’t be the best career choice. Therefore, throughout my junior into my senior year, I transitioned to be a journalist instead because in that field I still get to write and tell stories, but am more likely to get a job out of school.

Therefore, once my mind was made up, it was time to choose a university to attend. I may have mentioned this before but I will go into more detail now. Point Park was actually the fourth school that I visited for journalism. I previously thought about going to Hiram College and visited there as well as Seton Hill and Edinboro. I also visited Waynesburg and Penn State Behrend after Point Park. However, after visiting Point Park, I knew that would be my front-running choice for my school and I didn’t look back since.

For one thing, the school was in Pittsburgh. I always loved going to visit Pittsburgh growing up so I was comfortable with the city. I was also only an hour away from my home so I could go home any time I wanted. However, more importantly, the school is in Pittsburgh, a city that is filled by four big TV stations and dozens of radio stations and newspapers. If there was ever a perfect opportunity to find an internship or find employment after graduating, it would be with a school in direct contact with them. Those were the deciding factors in my decision to go to Point Park.

I also mentioned previously that my dream job is to be an online entertainment reviewer. Why, because I get the most enjoyment from them so I want to pay tribute to their legacy. I started watching people on YouTube since 2011 and it has shaped me as far as where I get my history on entertainment, where I get my sense of humor, and more importantly, how I want to cover entertainment in the future. I love the way that they review and cover the news, almost as much as traditional media covers them. Plus, the way that news coverage is going, more and more publications is gearing their efforts towards online anyway, so I am in the field of the future of journalism.

Leave a comment