Internship Weekly Blog: Week 7

For this week, I will talk about some of the shows that are aired on a daily basis at my station. Since I hear them all day when I am at work and have to make promos for them, I’d figure I would have a good idea of what each show is like.

From 5-9 a.m., a program called Morning Edition is aired. It is basically from what I’ve heard the radio version of The Today Show. It has a mixture of local news coverage, national and global news coverage, and interesting tidbits of talking and discussion.

At 9 a.m., as well as from 11 p.m. through 5 a.m., WESA airs the BBC World Service. From 10 a.m. through noon, a talk-show called the Diane Rehm show is aired. It is a political discussion talk-show starring award-winning radio host and journalist Diane Rehm. From noon to one, an original program created and produced by WESA is aired called Essential Pittsburgh. It is a news feature type show that mainly focuses on news that deals with the Pittsburgh area.

From there, a series of political talk shows is aired through the afternoon. From 1-3, a show called Here and Now is aired. A show called Fresh Air is broadcasted from 3-4. All Things Considered is aired from 4-6:30.

Another local show called Marketplace fills the gap from 6:30-7. It is essentially a half hour of market and economic talk. A program called the World airs from 7-8 which is a feature show that highlights different stories, cultures, and groups of people from around the world. Essential Pittsburgh is rebroadcasted from 8-9 and Fresh Air is rebroadcasted from 10-11. A music-orientated show called Q aired from 9-10 but will soon be replaced.

That is the general schedule for the radio log from Mondays through Thursdays. Fridays are the same minus a few different shows and the weekend has a completely different and random schedule. I just figured I would give you insight on the type of shows is broadcasted at my station and what I have to make promos for.

Leave a comment