Internship Weekly Blog: Week 6

Well, it was an interesting week. My main advisor, Helen, was on vacation. She actually said to me before she left that she would prefer for me to come in at 12:30 because she was afraid I would sit around for most of the day doing nothing. However, instead of doing that, for both days I actually came in for my regular schedule. It was a good thing that I did because I did have a decently-sized workload that occupied most of my time when I was working.

This proved that I am able to take responsibility and know when I am supposed to work. This also shows that I am able to know what I am supposed to do during a typical day when I work so that I know what to do in case someone isn’t there.

I arrive at 9:30 and I usually spend an hour going over the log from the previous day to make sure the previous day’s underwriting credits are aired. From 10:30 to around 12:30 I do small tasks for Bob or Helen and get a head start on making promos.

After my lunch usually ends at 1:00 or 1:30, I make the next day’s log, work on small tasks, and finish making the promos which usually takes me to around 3:30 or 4:00. From there, I highlight what is supposed to be read by the DJs for the next day when they are on the air which normally takes me to when I leave at around 4:45.

That is my routine, more or less, and it makes me feel accomplished that I know how to plan my day and that Helen trusts me to do all of those things while she was away.

Leave a comment